Username:   Password: Remember me next time      [Forgot Password?] [Not registered? Sign-Up!]

Welcome to the Cushman Foundation

The Cushman Foundation for Foraminiferal Research, Inc., was founded in 1950 by a group of dedicated foraminiferal researchers to ensure the continued publication of the Contributions from the Cushman Laboratory for Foraminiferal Research, which was started in 1925 by Joseph A. Cushman. The stated purpose of the Foundation is “to promote research on foraminifera and allied organisms”.

Membership in the Cushman Foundation will not only support this goal, but will benefit members in various ways. The bulk of membership dues goes for the publication of the quarterly Journal of Foraminiferal Research. With strong editorial leadership, the Journal of Foraminiferal Research has reached a high professional level, as reflected in the scientific caliber of its articles, the superior quality of its reproductions and its high frequency of citation. An index of articles and directory of members is published annually in the October issue. A useful summary of recent publications on foraminifera appears in each issue. In addition, the Foundation publishes an actively growing series of Special Publications, many of which are currently available for purchase.

Each year the Foundation several student grants are awarded to M.S./Ph.D. students to partially support (up to $2000 ) their research projects. The many proposals received each year are judged on a competitive basis by the Foundation’s Board of Directors.

In 1980, the “Joseph A. Cushman Award for Excellence in Foraminiferal Research” was established to honor major contributors to foraminiferal research. Many outstanding researchers have been honored since for their superlative accomplishments in foraminiferal research. The award is presented at a social evening during the Geological Society of America Annual Meeting.

The Foundation also sponsors the Cushman Symposia on selected timely topics of foraminiferal research at the Geological Society of America Annual Meeting.

The Foundation's activities are carried out almost entirely by volunteers on a very modest budget derived largely from membership dues.

The Foundation's privacy policy can be viewed at Privacy Policy.

Current Officers

President - Jere H. Lipps
Vice President - Miriam Katz
Secretary/Treasurer -

Current Directors

Joan M. Bernhard
Laurel Collins
Richard Fleugeman
Susan T. Goldstein
Brian T. Huber
Scott Ishman
Miriam Katz
R. Mark Leckie
Peter McLaughlin
Pamela Hallock Muller
Crystal Pletka
Lizette Leon-Rodriguez
Jere H. Lipps
Eduardo Leorri Soriano
Pamela Buzas Stephens

Honorary Directors

Paul Brenckle
Martin Buzas
Frederick J. Collier
Martha T. Collier
Don Eicher
Paul Loubere
Pamela Hallock Muller
Emile Pessagno
Charles Ross
Barun Sen Gupta
Scott W. Snyder
Ellen Thomas
Kenneth M. Towe

Special Publications Editor

Pamela Buzas Stephens

Journal of Foraminiferal Research Editor

Pamela Hallock Muller


About Awards Resources JFR Special Publications Membership Home Donate